This job has expired


McGovern Institute for Brain Research at MIT
Cambridge, Massachusetts (US)
Salary commensurate with experience.
Closing date
Nov 30, 2021

View more

Life Sciences, Neuroscience
Position Type
Full Time
Organization Type
You need to sign in or create an account to save a job.


The McGovern Institute for Brain Research is accepting nominations for the 18th annual Edward M. Scolnick Prize in Neuroscience. The Prize recognizes an outstanding discovery or significant advance in the field of neuroscience. The prize is $150,000. The recipient presents a public lecture at MIT, hosted by the McGovern Institute and followed by a dinner in Spring 2022.

Nomination Deadline: December 15, 2021

Nomination procedures:

Candidates for the award must be nominated by individuals affiliated with universities, hospitals, medicals schools, or research institutes, with a background in neuroscience. Self-nomination is not permitted. Each nomination should include: • A biosketch or CV of the nominee; • A letter of nomination with a summary and analysis of the major contributions of the nominee to the field of neuroscience. • Up to two representative reprints will be accepted.

Selection Procedure:

• Members of the selection committee and faculty affiliated with MIT are not eligible. • Announcement of the award recipient will be made in January 2022. • Recipient must attend all events to be awarded the prize.

Past Scolnick Prize Recipients:

2020: Joshua Sanes, Harvard University; 2019: Richard Huganir, Johns Hopkins University; 2018: David J. Anderson, HHMI, Caltech; 2017: Catherine Dulac, HHMI, Harvard University; 2016: Cornelia Bargmann, HHMI, The Rockefeller University; 2015: Charles Gilbert, The Rockefeller University; 2014: Huda Zoghbi, HHMI, Baylor University; 2013: Thomas Jessell, HHMI, Columbia University; 2012: Roger Nicoll, UCSF; 2011: Bruce McEwen, The Rockefeller University; 2010: Lily and Yuh-Nung Jan, UCSF; 2009: Jeremy Nathans, Johns Hopkins University; 2008: Michael Davis, Emory University; 2007: David Julius, UCSF; 2006: Michael Greenberg, Children’s Hospital/HMS; 2005: Judith Rapoport, NIH; 2004: Masakazu Konishi, CalTech

Send nomination packet to: or

Attn: Scolnick Prize Nomination

McGovern Institute for Brain Research Massachusetts Institute of Technology

77 Massachusetts Avenue 46-3160

Cambridge, MA 02139; 

You need to sign in or create an account to save a job.

Get job alerts

Create a job alert and receive personalized job recommendations straight to your inbox.

Create alert